that’s the only way i can come

by nora turato

05.12.202024.01.2021

Nora Turato’s artistic work focuses on the power and versatility of language and communication systems. By decoding, she extrapolates texts and words from the mediatized and hyper-computerized society in which we live, and assembles a personal inventory that she calls a “pool”. It is a record in progress that is also the source that the artist draws on to create her works: spoken-word performances, videos, installations and graffiti, in which she transforms the texts into a striking new narrative, revealing the great volatility of language, in an era in which it is often disconnected from its informative function.

For the exhibition at MASI’s LAC venue, Turato has devised an installation formed by a series of quotations, which scroll across a giant screen in front of a window on the museum’s first floor. Visible only from outside, without entering the exhibition rooms, the work reflects a new way of communicating with visitors, responding in an innovative and sensitive way to the restrictions imposed by the COVID-19 emergency.

  • MASI LAC

  • Piazza Bernardino Luini 6, 6900 Lugano
  • Tue – Wed – Fri: 10 am – 5 pm
    Thurs: 10 am – 8 pm
    Sat – Sun – Public Holidays: 10 am – 6 pm
    Closed on Mondays
  • Full Price: CHF 15.–/Reduced Price: CHF 12.–
    Details

Biography

Nora Turato was born in Zagreb, Croatia, in 1991, and lives and works in Amsterdam. She studied at the Gerrit Rietvield Academie and the Rijksakademie in Amsterdam, and at the Werkplaats Typografie in Arnhem, in the Netherlands. Her works and performances have been featured in numerous solo and collective exhibitions, including the exhibition scheduled for 2021 at Studio Now, MoMA, New York, and her most recent solo shows at the MOVE2020 festival, Centre Pompidou, Paris (2020); on the MGK Walls, Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Siegen (2020); and at the Kunstmuseum Liechtenstein, Vaduz (2019). Her collective exhibitions include those at the MACRO, Rome (2020); the Institute of Contemporary Arts, London (2019); Luma Westbau, Zurich (2019); Manifesta 12, Palermo (2018), and the Serralves Museum of Contemporary Art, Oporto (2018).

that’s the only way i can come

by nora turato

05.12.202024.01.2021

Nora Turato erkundet bei ihrer künstlerischen Suche die Kraft und Vielseitigkeit der Sprache und der Kommunikationssysteme. Durch die Dekodierung, extrapoliert die Künstlerin Texte und Worte aus unserer medialisierten und hyperinformierten gesellschaftlichen Lebenswelt, und schafft auf diese Weise ein persönliches, als Pool bezeichnetes Inventar. Ein im Werden begriffenes Register und gleichzeitig der Quell, aus dem die Künstlerin für ihre Werke schöpft: Sprech-Performances, Installationen und Graffitis, bei denen sie die Texte in ein neues, eindrucksvolles Narrativ verwandelt.

Anlässlich der Ausstellung im Standort LAC des MASI hat Nora Turato eine Installation aus einer Reihe ausgewählter Zitate konzipiert, die über einen Grossbildschirm im Fenster im ersten Stockwerk des Museums wandern. Das nur von aussen, ohne Betreten der Ausstellungsräume sichtbare Werk steht für eine neue Art der Kommunikation mit dem Betrachter und trägt auf innovative und sensible Weise den Restriktionen im Zuge des Covid-19-Notstands Rechnung.

  • MASI LAC

  • Piazza Bernardino Luini 6, 6900 Lugano
  • Di / Mi / Fr 10–17 Uhr
    Do 10–20 Uhr
    Sa / So / Feiertage 10–18 Uhr
    Montag geschlossen
  • Erwachsene: CHF 15.–/Reduziert: CHF 12.–
    Detail

Biografie

Nora Turato, 1991 in Zagreb, Kroatien, geboren, lebt und arbeitet in Amsterdam. Sie hat an der Gerrit Rietvield Academie und der Rijksakademie in Amsterdam sowie an der Werkplaats Typografie in Arnheim in den Niederlanden studiert. Ihre Werke und Performances waren und sind in zahlreichen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen zu sehen, so etwa in der für 2021 im Studio Now, MoMa, New York geplanten Ausstellung und in diesen jüngsten Einzelausstellungen: in Paris im Rahmen des Festivals MOVE2020, Centre Pompidou (2020); im MGK Walls, Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Siegen (2020); sowie im Kunstmuseum Liechtenstein, Vaduz (2019). Zu den Gruppenausstellungen zählen unter anderem jene im MACRO, Rom (2020); im Institute of Contemporary Arts, London (2019); im Luma Westbau, Zürich (2019); bei der Manifesta 12, Palermo (2018); sowie im Museu de Arte Contemporânea de Serralves, Porto (2018).