Light and Landscape Around Giovanni Segantini


For most of the year 2019 MASI has the extraordinary opportunity to hosting an outstanding example of an expression of the sublime: Giovanni Segantini’s Alpine ofiptych. To celebrate this exceptional event, MASI has assembled about 60 artworks around the monumental work by the great master of Divisionism, retracing the evolution of landscape painting in Switzerland and internationally from the 18th to the 21st century. In front of the Triptych, is the equally engaging video installation, Die Magische Bergwelt by This Brunner is projected in a show within a show.

Curated by Francesca Benini and Cristina Sonderegger

Starting from a reflection of what may be defined artistically as Sublime, the exhibition traces the evolution of landscape painting. An expression of The Alpine Spirit inspired the artists featured to create their own interpretations of the mountain landscape and the reality that surrounds it. This spirit takes the forms of romance in Turner and Calame, in the use of colour in the works of Giacometti and Dudreville, it represents national identity in the works of Franzoni, Rossi and Foglia; and, finally, it becomes an historical document in the photographs of Donetta. These trends are reversed in contemporary art where representation of the Alps becomes ambivalent. Lutz and Guggisberg, for example, portray the mountains ironically in their assemblages, emphasising the stereotypes of their traditional representation, while Burkhard’s photographs restore a perfect balance between sentiment and history in the mountain landscape.

Featured Artists
Giovanni Battista Innocente Colomba (1717–1801) / Joseph Mallord William Turner (1775–1851) / John Constable (1776–1837) / Alexandre Calame (1810–1864) / Gustave Eugène Castan (1823–1892) / Karl Heilmayer (1829–1908) / Ferdinand Hodler (1853–1918) / Filippo Franzoni (1857–1911) / Giovanni Segantini (1858–1899) / Luigi Rossi (1864–1890) / Roberto Donetta (1865–1932) / Edoardo Berta (1867–1931) / Giovanni Giacometti (1868–1933) / Gioachimo Galbusera (1871–1942) / Umberto Boccioni (1882–1916) / Leonardo Dudreville (1885–1976) / Giuseppe Foglia (1888–1950) / Giovanni Bianconi (1891–1981) / Luigi Taddei (1898–1992) / Balthasar Burkhard (1944–2010) / Matthias Brunner (1945) / Not Vital (1948) / Monica Studer (1960) / Christoph van den Berg (1962) / Anders Guggisberg (1966) / Andreas Lutz (1968) / Silvano Repetto (1968)


  • Piazza Bernardino Luini 6, 6900 Lugano