that’s the only way i can come

by nora turato

05.12.202024.01.2021

Nora Turato’s artistic work focuses on the power and versatility of language and communication systems. By decoding, she extrapolates texts and words from the mediatized and hyper-computerized society in which we live, and assembles a personal inventory that she calls a “pool”. It is a record in progress that is also the source that the artist draws on to create her works: spoken-word performances, videos, installations and graffiti, in which she transforms the texts into a striking new narrative, revealing the great volatility of language, in an era in which it is often disconnected from its informative function.

For the exhibition at MASI’s LAC venue, Turato has devised an installation formed by a series of quotations, which scroll across a giant screen in front of a window on the museum’s first floor. Visible only from outside, without entering the exhibition rooms, the work reflects a new way of communicating with visitors, responding in an innovative and sensitive way to the restrictions imposed by the COVID-19 emergency.

  • MASI LAC

  • Piazza Bernardino Luini 6, 6900 Lugano
  • Tue – Wed – Fri: 10 am – 5 pm
    Thurs: 10 am – 8 pm
    Sat – Sun – Public Holidays: 10 am – 6 pm
    Closed on Mondays
  • Full Price: CHF 15.–/Reduced Price: CHF 12.–
    Details

Biography

Nora Turato was born in Zagreb, Croatia, in 1991, and lives and works in Amsterdam. She studied at the Gerrit Rietvield Academie and the Rijksakademie in Amsterdam, and at the Werkplaats Typografie in Arnhem, in the Netherlands. Her works and performances have been featured in numerous solo and collective exhibitions, including the exhibition scheduled for 2021 at Studio Now, MoMA, New York, and her most recent solo shows at the MOVE2020 festival, Centre Pompidou, Paris (2020); on the MGK Walls, Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Siegen (2020); and at the Kunstmuseum Liechtenstein, Vaduz (2019). Her collective exhibitions include those at the MACRO, Rome (2020); the Institute of Contemporary Arts, London (2019); Luma Westbau, Zurich (2019); Manifesta 12, Palermo (2018), and the Serralves Museum of Contemporary Art, Oporto (2018).

that’s the only way i can come

by nora turato

05.12.202024.01.2021

 

 

Nora Turato développe sa recherche artistique autour de la force et de la versatilité du langage et des systèmes de communication. À travers un travail de décodage, l’artiste extrapole des textes et des mots de la société médiatisée et hyper-informatisée dans laquelle nous vivons et compose un inventaire personnel appelé pool. Un registre en cours qui est aussi la source dans laquelle l’artiste puise pour créer ses œuvres : performances parlées, installations et graffitis, dans lesquelles elle transforme les textes en une nouvelle et forte narration, révélant la grande volatilité du langage à une époque où il est souvent déconnecté de sa fonction informative.

À l’occasion de l’exposition du MASI au siège du LAC, Nora Turato a conçu une installation composée d’une série de citations, qui défilent sur un maxi-écran situé à la fenêtre du premier étage du musée. L’œuvre, visible uniquement de l’extérieur, sans devoir accéder aux salles d’exposition, reflète une nouvelle façon de communiquer avec les visiteurs, en répondant ainsi de manière originale aux restrictions dues à l’urgence du Covid-19.

  • MASI LAC

  • Piazza Bernardino Luini 6, 6900 Lugano
  • Ma – Me – Ve: 10 – 17 heures
    Je: 10 – 20 heures
    Sa – Di – Jours fériés: 10 – 18 heures
    Fermé le lundi
  • c
    Détails

Biographie

Nora Turato, née en 1991 à Zagreb, en Croatie, vit et travaille à Amsterdam. Elle a étudié à la Gerrit Rietvield Academie, à la Rijksakademie d’Amsterdam et au Werkplaats Typografie d’Arnhem, en Hollande. Ses œuvres et ses performances ont fait l’objet de nombreuses expositions individuelles et collectives, dont l’exposition prévue pour 2021 au Studio Now, MoMA, New York et les expositions individuelles les plus récentes : à Paris dans le cadre du festival MOVE2020, Centre Pompidou (2020) ; au MGK Walls, Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Siegen (2020) ; et au Kunstmuseum Liechtenstein, Vaduz (2019). Parmi les expositions collectives, citons celles du MACRO, Rome (2020) ; de l’Institute of Contemporary Arts, Londres (2019) ; du Luma Westbau, Zurich (2019) ; de Manifesta 12, Palerme (2018) et du Musée d’art contemporain de Serralves, Porto (2018).