Silvano Repetto
Useless Projections

30.0128.02.2021
#masi@home

Silvano Repetto, Performance inutile n. 2505.
Going to get a log for the fire 200 km away from home
©2020 Silvano Repetto

In a world increasingly based on efficiency, productivity and the optimization of time, Silvano Repetto's actions are a nod to the nonsense of the Dadaists and remind us that not everything has to have a rational reason.
His performances, which he himself defines as “useless”, are intentionally impossible missions, acts of which no trace nor history remain, other than in his stories or his photographs and videos of himself.

He does not seem interested in those which might be achievable because, according to his system, it is precisely un-achievability that legitimizes the performance and ensures its success. Repetto uses humour to present playful visions based on sudden inspirations that overturn the logic and obviousness of things, without intending to offer intellectual or symbolic interpretations.

Silvano Repetto, Performance inutile n. 4004.
Playing hide-and-seek alone in a wood in central Switzerland
©2020 Silvano Repetto

For the MASI online exhibition, Silvano Repetto has documented his Performance inutili by recording them as short videos. Hitherto immortalized as photographs, subsequently transformed into series of postcards, the artist has created a new filmed version of ten new performances, presented here for the first time.

The artist uses his performances to create a “short circuit” able to break down intellectual barriers and provoke astonishment, inviting viewers to enjoy art without fear of revealing its uselessness but, on the contrary, declaring the importance of things that have no use, following in the footsteps of illustrious predecessors. Repetto’s utility of the useless lies precisely in reminding us that, as the Italian philosopher Umberto Galimberti stated, “You either stop in front of something that is useless, yet has value in itself, or the whole chain of utility has no meaning!”.

Video
Performance inutili

8'

Silvano Repetto, Performance inutile n. 2707.
Mowing a huge lawn with a nail clipper
©2020 Silvano Repetto

Photo
Performance inutili

12'

Silvano Repetto, Performance inutile n. 4400.
Trying to become a fossil in the space of a minute
©2020 Silvano Repetto

Silvano Repetto, Performance inutile n. 5555.
Talk to a big boulder
©2020 Silvano Repetto

Biography

Silvano Repetto

Silvano Repetto was born in Mendrisio in 1968, and lives and works in Lugano. He studied Decorative Arts at the CSIA (Centro Scolastico Industrie Artistiche) in Lugano and subsequently attended the Accademia di Belle Arti di Firenze, from which he graduated in 1992.
Since the 1990s, he has taken part and “not taken part” (in true Repetto style) in various exhibitions, the most recent of which include Il Respiro dell’arte at Palazzo Ducale, Genoa (2020); the Milan Triennale (2018) with the video installation entitled L’ospite inatteso; the 14th edition of the documenta international exhibition in Kassel (2017) with his performance Io resto fuori; the Armory Show in New York (2017) with the performance Esserci o non esserci; the Fama/Fame exhibition at Art Lab at the ASC Studio, London (2015); and the Museo d’Arte di Mendrisio (2015) with the installation Videoelemosina.

Silvano Repetto also works as a director and producer. In 1993, he founded the IFDUIF Video Festival, an acronym of Il Figlio Di Ubaldo Il Falegname, and his own eponymous production company, IFDUIF Film.

Silvano Repetto
Unnütze Projektionen

30.0128.02.2021
#masi@home

Silvano Repetto, Performance inutile n. 2505.
In 200 km Entfernung ein Stück Brennholz für den Kamin finden
©2020 Silvano Repetto

In einer Welt, die zunehmend stärker auf Effizienz, Produktivität und Zeitoptimierung ausgerichtet ist, verweisen Silvano Repettos Aktionen augenzwinkernd auf dadaistischen Nonsense und erinnern daran, dass nicht immer alles zweckrational motiviert sein muss. Seine von ihm als „unnütz“ bezeichneten Performances sind gewollt unmögliche Missionen, Aktionen, die keine Spuren oder Geschichte hinterlassen würden, wären da nicht seine Erzählung oder die mit meist behelfsmässigen Mitteln geknipsten Bilder davon.

Jene, die gelingen könnten, scheinen ihn nicht zu interessieren, da seinem Verständnis zufolge gerade das Nichtgelingen eine Performance legitimiert und für ihren Erfolg sorgt. Humorvoll und ohne jede Absicht, intellektuelle oder symbolische Interpretationen zu liefern, präsentiert Repetto verspielte, aus Gedankenblitzen entstandene Visionen, die Logik und Selbstverständlichkeit von Dingen auf den Kopf stellen.

Silvano Repetto, Performance inutile n. 4004.
Allein in einem Wald in der Zentralschweiz Verstecken spielen
©2020 Silvano Repetto

Für die online Ausstellung des MASI hat Silvano Repetto seine Performance inutili bisher in Form kurzer Videos festgehalten. Während er seine Performances in Einzelfotos dokumentierte und daraus Postkartenserien machte, schuf er diesmal eine filmische Version von zehn Performances, die hier zum ersten Mal gezeigt werden.

Seine Werke provozieren einen Kurzschluss, damit durchbricht er intellektuelle Barrieren, sorgt für Staunen, lädt dazu ein, Kunst zu erleben, ohne sich davor zu fürchten, ihre Nutzlosigkeit zu offenbaren. Vielmehr unterstreicht er, in den Fussstapfen berühmter Vorgänger, wie wichtig Dinge sind, die keinen praktischen Zweck erfüllen. Vielleicht liegt Repettos Nutzen des Unnützen genau darin, dass er uns an etwas erinnert, was der italienische Philosoph Umberto Galimberti so ausgedrückt hat: „Entweder man bleibt vor etwas Nutzlosem stehen, das einen Wert in sich hat, oder die ganze Nützlichkeitskette ist bedeutungslos!“

Video
Performance inutili

8'

Silvano Repetto, Performance inutile n. 2707.
Ein riesiges Grasfeld mit einer Nagelknipse schneiden
©2020 Silvano Repetto

Foto
Performance inutili

12'

Silvano Repetto, Performance inutile n. 4400.
Versuchen, innerhalb einer Minute zu einem Fossil zu werden
©2020 Silvano Repetto

Silvano Repetto, Performance inutile n. 5555.
Mit einem grossen Felsen reden
©2020 Silvano Repetto

Biografie

Silvano Repetto

Geboren 1968 in Mendrisio, lebt und arbeitet in Lugano. Nach dem Abschluss in Dekorativer Kunst am CSIA (Centro Scolastico Industrie Artistiche) in Lugano folgte 1992 das Diplom der Kunstakademie von Florenz. Seit den 1990er-Jahren hat er an verschiedenen Ausstellungen teilgenommen oder (ganz im Repetto-Stil) nicht-teilgenommen, in jüngster Zeit etwa an Il Respiro dell’Arte im Palazzo Ducale in Genua (2020); mit der Videoinstallation L’ospite inatteso an der Triennale von Mailand (2018); mit der Performance Io resto fuori an der 14. Ausgabe der internationalen Ausstellung documenta in Kassel (2017); mit der Performance Esserci o non esserci an der Armory Show von New York (2017); in London an der Ausstellung Fama_Fame im Art Lab Studio ASC (2015); mit der Installation Videoelemosina im Museo d’Arte von Mendrisio (2015).

Silvano Repetto ist auch als Regisseur und Produzent tätig, 1993 gründete er das IFDUIF Video Festival, Akronym für „Il Figlio Di Ubaldo Il Falegname“ und Name seiner Produktionsfirma IFDUIF Film.