Silvano Repetto
Useless Projections

30.0128.02.2021
#masi@home

Silvano Repetto, Performance inutile n. 2505.
Going to get a log for the fire 200 km away from home
©2020 Silvano Repetto

In a world increasingly based on efficiency, productivity and the optimization of time, Silvano Repetto's actions are a nod to the nonsense of the Dadaists and remind us that not everything has to have a rational reason.
His performances, which he himself defines as “useless”, are intentionally impossible missions, acts of which no trace nor history remain, other than in his stories or his photographs and videos of himself.

He does not seem interested in those which might be achievable because, according to his system, it is precisely un-achievability that legitimizes the performance and ensures its success. Repetto uses humour to present playful visions based on sudden inspirations that overturn the logic and obviousness of things, without intending to offer intellectual or symbolic interpretations.

Silvano Repetto, Performance inutile n. 4004.
Playing hide-and-seek alone in a wood in central Switzerland
©2020 Silvano Repetto

For the MASI online exhibition, Silvano Repetto has documented his Performance inutili by recording them as short videos. Hitherto immortalized as photographs, subsequently transformed into series of postcards, the artist has created a new filmed version of ten new performances, presented here for the first time.

The artist uses his performances to create a “short circuit” able to break down intellectual barriers and provoke astonishment, inviting viewers to enjoy art without fear of revealing its uselessness but, on the contrary, declaring the importance of things that have no use, following in the footsteps of illustrious predecessors. Repetto’s utility of the useless lies precisely in reminding us that, as the Italian philosopher Umberto Galimberti stated, “You either stop in front of something that is useless, yet has value in itself, or the whole chain of utility has no meaning!”.

Video
Performance inutili

8'

Silvano Repetto, Performance inutile n. 2707.
Mowing a huge lawn with a nail clipper
©2020 Silvano Repetto

Photo
Performance inutili

12'

Silvano Repetto, Performance inutile n. 4400.
Trying to become a fossil in the space of a minute
©2020 Silvano Repetto

Silvano Repetto, Performance inutile n. 5555.
Talk to a big boulder
©2020 Silvano Repetto

Biography

Silvano Repetto

Silvano Repetto was born in Mendrisio in 1968, and lives and works in Lugano. He studied Decorative Arts at the CSIA (Centro Scolastico Industrie Artistiche) in Lugano and subsequently attended the Accademia di Belle Arti di Firenze, from which he graduated in 1992.
Since the 1990s, he has taken part and “not taken part” (in true Repetto style) in various exhibitions, the most recent of which include Il Respiro dell’arte at Palazzo Ducale, Genoa (2020); the Milan Triennale (2018) with the video installation entitled L’ospite inatteso; the 14th edition of the documenta international exhibition in Kassel (2017) with his performance Io resto fuori; the Armory Show in New York (2017) with the performance Esserci o non esserci; the Fama/Fame exhibition at Art Lab at the ASC Studio, London (2015); and the Museo d’Arte di Mendrisio (2015) with the installation Videoelemosina.

Silvano Repetto also works as a director and producer. In 1993, he founded the IFDUIF Video Festival, an acronym of Il Figlio Di Ubaldo Il Falegname, and his own eponymous production company, IFDUIF Film.

Silvano Repetto
Projections inutiles

30.0128.02.2021
#masi@home

Silvano Repetto, Performance inutile n. 2505.
Aller prendre une bûche pour la cheminée à 200 km de distance
©2020 Silvano Repetto

Dans un monde de plus en plus basé sur le rendement, la productivité et l’optimisation du temps, les performances de Silvano Repetto sont un clin d’œil au nonsense dadaïste et nous rappellent que tout n’a pas nécessairement besoin d’avoir une motivation rationnelle. Ses performances, qu’il définit lui-même d’ « inutiles », sont des missions délibérément impossibles, des actions dont il ne reste aucune trace et aucune histoire, hormis dans ses propres récits, ses autoportraits photographiques ou ses captations vidéo.

Ceux qui pourraient réussir ne semblent pas l’intéresser, puisque, selon son credo, la non-réussite est précisément ce qui légitime la performance et garantit son succès. Sans vouloir donner des interprétations intellectuelles ou symboliques, il propose avec humour des visions ludiques, nées d’inspirations soudaines, qui bouleversent la logique et l’évidence des choses.

Silvano Repetto, Performance inutile n. 4004.
Jouer à cache-cache tout seul dans un bois de la Suisse centrale
©2020 Silvano Repetto

Dans le cadre de l’exposition online du MASI, Silvano Repetto présente ses Performance inutili sous forme de courtes vidéos. Documentées jusqu’à présent uniquement en photos, transformées ensuite en une série de cartes postales, l’artiste a élaboré pour la première fois, à l’occasion de cette exposition, une version filmée de dix performances inédites.

À travers ses œuvres, l’artiste crée un court-circuit faisant tomber les barrières intellectuelles et provoquant l’étonnement. Il nous invite à profiter de l’art sans craindre d’en révéler l’inutilité, mais plutôt en déclarant, dans le sillage de ses célèbres prédécesseurs, l’importance des choses qui ne servent à rien. L’inutile de Repetto, cependant, n’est jamais superficiel ; c’est un inutile profond. Peut-être l’utilité de l’inutile de Repetto est-elle précisément de nous rappeler que, comme le dit le philosophe italien Umberto Galimberti: « Soit nous nous arrêtons devant quelque chose d’inutile, qui a une valeur en soi, soit toute la chaîne de l’utilité n’a aucun sens! ».

Video
Performance inutili

8'

Silvano Repetto, Performance inutile n. 2707.
Couper un énorme champ d'herbe avec un coupe-ongles
©2020 Silvano Repetto

Photo
Performance inutili

12'

Silvano Repetto, Performance inutile n. 4400.
Essayer de devenir un fossile en une minute
©2020 Silvano Repetto

Silvano Repetto, Performance inutile n. 5555.
Parler à un gros rocher
©2020 Silvano Repetto

Biographie

Silvano Repetto

Né à Mendrisio en 1968, il vit et travaille à Lugano. Après avoir étudié les arts décoratifs au CSIA (Centro Scolastico Industrie Artistiche) de Lugano, il a obtenu en 1992 un diplôme de l'Accademia di Belle Arti de Florence. À partir des années 1990, il a participé et non-participé (typique du style de Repetto) à diverses expositions, dont les plus récentes sont Il Respiro dell'arte, au Palazzo Ducale de Gênes (2020) ; à la Triennale de Milan (2018) avec l'installation vidéo L'ospite inatteso (L’invité inattendu) ; à la quatorzième édition de l'exposition internationale documenta à Kassel (2017) avec la performance Io resto fuori (Moi je reste dehors) ; à l'Armory Show de New York (2017) avec la performance Esserci o non esserci (Y être ou ne pas y être) ; à l'exposition Fama/Fame, au art-lab Studio asc, Londres (2015) ; et au Museo d'Arte de Mendrisio (2015) avec l'installation Videoelemosina (Videomendicité).

Silvano Repetto est également actif en tant que réalisateur et producteur. En 1993, il fonde le festival de vidéo IFDUIF, un acronyme de Il Figlio Di Ubaldo Il Falegname (Le Fils d’Ubald le Menuisier) et un homonyme de la société de production qu'il possède, IFDUIF Film.