Braschler/Fischer

Divided We Stand

17.1022.11.2020

The MASI presents a pop-up exhibition centered around Divided We Stand, a project brought to life in 2019 by Swiss photographer duo Mathias Braschler and Monika Fischer to document the deep disintegration of American society.



Braschler/Fischer, William A. Sonntag, Jeffery S. Bruder and Brandon Lee, firefighters, Michigan City Fire Department Station 4, Michigan City, Indiana © 2020 Braschler/Fischer

Following the results of the 2016 presidential elections in the US, which have revealed a divided country between conservative and progressive forces, the rural and the urban, the red centre of the nation and the blue coasts; the couple decided to embark on a documentary photography trip across the United States to probe the underlying sources of these sharp contrasts, photographing and interviewing people from all layers of society across the country.

Divided We Stand is the result of this fifteen-thousand-mile road trip across the United States, which commenced in April 2019. Along the way, traveling through 40 of the 50 federal states, Braschler/Fischer met, interviewed and photographed 82 American citizens with very diverse views of life, politics and their country, including people of all ages, ethnic groups and professional backgrounds.

The exhibition presents a selection of these intense, and sometimes surprising, portraits projected in MASI’s exhibition spaces, along with a series of interviews that put Braschler/Fischer’s work into context and allow for a better understanding of the opinions of some of the most significant characters they have encountered during their road trip.

Divided We Stand shows the real face of contemporary America, marked in recent years by complex political and social changes. Braschler/Fischer’s photographs offer a picture of a nation at a crossroads, whose future will be very different depending on the outcome of the imminent presidential elections.

  • MASI LAC

  • Piazza Bernardino Luini 6, 6900 Lugano

Biography

Mathias Braschler and Monika Fischer are an internationally renowned photographer couple specialised in portrait photography, particularly interested in wide-ranging projects that focus on people from all parts of society in various countries of the world.

Their most important projects include “Faces of Football”, a collection of close-ups of leading footballers photographed immediately after having left the pitch; “China”, a series of portraits of people from all parts of society and regions of the world’s most populous country; and “The Human Face of Climate Change”, which documents the impact of climate change in various countries around the world.

Braschler/Fischer have won many awards, including the World Press Photo Award, the Hansel Mieth Prize and the European Publishing Award. Their photo reportages are not only published as important monographs, but are also regularly featured in leading international pubications. Their works have been exhibited in museums and galleries all over the world.

Divided We Stand Statements

Braschler/Fischer

Divided We Stand

17.1022.11.2020

Das MASI präsentiert das Projekt Divided We Stand, welches 2019 vom Schweizer Fotografenpaar Mathias Braschler und Monika Fischer realisiert wurde. Im Fokus steht die tiefgreifende Spaltung der heutigen amerikanischen Gesellschaft, die das Paar anhand eindrücklicher Porträts dokumentiert hat.

Braschler/Fischer, William A. Sonntag, Jeffery S. Bruder, und Brandon Lee, Feuerwehrleute, Michigan City Fire Department Station 4, Michigan City, Indiana © 2020 Braschler/Fischer

Das Ergebnis der Präsidentschaftswahlen 2016 hat, ein Amerika gezeigt, das zwischen konservativen und progressiven Kräften, zwischen Stadt und Land, zwischen dem "roten" Zentrum und den "blauen" Küsten gespalten ist. Dies inspirierte Braschler/Fischer, eine Reportage über die Vereinigten Staaten zu machen. Sie forschten nach den Gründen für die prägenden Kontraste, indem sie im ganzen Land Menschen aus allen Gesellschaftsschichten fotografierten und interviewten.

Divided We Stand ist das Resultat dieser intensiven Reise, 24 000 Kilometer quer durch die USA, die im April 2019 in einem zum Wohnmobil umgebauten und mit einem Fotostudio ausgestatteten Kleinbus begann. Auf dem Weg, der sie durch 40 der 50 Bundesstaaten führte, interviewte und porträtierte das Fotografenpaar 82 Bürgerinnen und Bürger der Vereinigten Staaten aus allen Alters- und Berufsgruppen, verschiedener ethnischer Herkunft und mit den unterschiedlichsten Ansichten über das Leben, die Politik und ihr Land.

Das MASI präsentiert eine Auswahl dieser ausdrucksstarken – manchmal überraschenden – Porträts als Grossprojektionen, ergänzt durch eine Reihe von Videointerviews, welche die fotografische Arbeit in einen grösseren Zusammenhang stellen und das Verständnis der unterschiedlichsten Ansichten der Menschen, die Braschler/Fischer auf ihrem Roadtrip getroffen haben, vertiefen.

Divided We Stand zeigt das Gesicht des heutigen Amerikas, das in den letzten Jahren komplexe politische und soziale Veränderungen erlebt hat. Braschler/Fischers Aufnahmen vermitteln das Bild einer Nation am Scheideweg, deren Zukunft am Vorabend der bevorstehenden Präsidentschaftswahlen völlig offen scheint.

  • MASI LAC

  • Piazza Bernardino Luini 6, 6900 Lugano

Biografie

Mathias Braschler und Monika Fischer sind ein international renommiertes Fotografenpaar, das sich auf Porträtfotografie spezialisiert hat, insbesondere auf breit angelegte Projekte, in denen sie sich mit der Erforschung von Menschen aus allen Gesellschaftsschichten in verschiedenen Ländern der Welt auseinandersetzen.

Zu ihren wichtigsten Projekten gehören Faces of Football, eine Sammlung von Nahaufnahmen von Fussballspielern, die unmittelbar nach Verlassen des Spielfelds fotografiert wurden, China, eine Reihe von Porträts von Menschen unterschiedlicher sozialer Herkunft und aus allen Regionen des bevölkerungsreichsten Landes der Welt, und The Human Face of Climate Change, das die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels in verschiedenen Ländern der Welt dokumentiert.

Braschler/Fischer haben mehrere Preise gewonnen, darunter den World Press Photo Award, den Hansel Mieth Prize und den European Publishing Award. Ihre Reportagen finden sich in grossen monografischen Publikationen und sie werden auch regelmässig von führenden internationalen Zeitschriften publiziert. Ihre Fotografien wurden in Museen und Galerien auf der ganzen Welt ausgestellt.

Divided We Stand Statements