Beni Bischof

Intensity Intensifies

05.12.202010.01.2021

Beni Bischof, Videostill

The universe of images created by Bischof is inspired by the banality of day-to-day life, which the artist translates into a very direct visual language, following a media strategy akin to advertising. Using plays on words, wit and symbols, Bischof brings the visitor face to face with paradoxical works, born of spontaneous thoughts on topical political and social themes, and presented in bizarre and comical ways.

The videos presented here are compositions of images drawn not only from the world of fashion, advertisements, and cheap, glossy and gossip magazines, but also from the film industry, the world of television and above all the internet – an endless source of textual and visual quotations. On occasion of the exhibition at MASI, the artist has also created the new video entitled Intensity Intensifies, in which he has composed a series of gifs recently created on social media.

  • MASI LAC

  • Piazza Bernardino Luini 6, 6900 Lugano

Biography

The works of Swiss artist Beni Bischof (b. 1976) have been displayed in many solo and group exhibitions, and have received several awards, including this year Landis & Gyr fellowship, the recent Jurypreis Skulpturen–Biennale Weiertal in Winterthur (2019); the Manor Award St Gallen (2015). And the Swiss Art Awards (2009, 2010). Among his noteworthy exhibitions are the solo show at the Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen, Rotterdam (2016) and the group shows at MUDAC, Lausanne (2018); the Museum of Contemporary Art Detroit, US (2018); Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart, Berlin (2016); and the Kunst Halle, St. Gallen (2010). Bischof’s production also includes the self-published art magazine Lasermagazin (since 2005) and the publication of the artist’s book Psychobuch in 2014, Bambi in 2017, Texte 1, 2, 3, 4 (Edition Patrick Frey, 2015, 2016, 2018, 2020) and Rambo (Nieves Publishing, 2016).

Beni Bischof

Intensity Intensifies

05.12.202010.01.2021

Beni Bischof, Videostill

Das von Beni Bischof erschaffene Bilduniversum gewinnt Gestalt vor dem Hintergrund der Banalität des Alltäglichen, die der Künstler in eine unmittelbare Bildsprache überträgt, wobei er einer an die Werbung angelehnten medialen Strategie folgt. Durch Wortspiele, Ironie und Symbole konfrontiert Bischof den Betrachter mit paradoxen Werken, die aus spontanen Gedanken zu aktuellen politischen und gesellschaftlichen Themen entstanden sind und auf bizarre und komische Weise präsentiert werden.

Die hier gezeigten Videos sind Kompositionen von Bildern aus der Modewelt, aus billigen Zeitschriften und Klatschblättern, aus Werbeanzeigen, aber auch aus der Filmindustrie, aus dem Fernsehen und vor allem dem Internet als einer unerschöpflichen Quelle für Text- und Bildzitate. Anlässlich der Ausstellung im MASI hat der Künstler ausserdem das neue Video Intensity Intensifies geschaffen, in dem er eine Reihe von jüngst in den Sozialen Medien verbreiteten GIFs verarbeitet hat.

  • MASI LAC

  • Piazza Bernardino Luini 6, 6900 Lugano

Biografie

Die Werke des Schweizer Künstlers Beni Bischof, Jahrgang 1976, wurden in zahlreichen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen gezeigt und vielfach prämiert. Zu den Auszeichnungen und Ausstellungen gehören unter anderem das diesjährige Landis & Gyr Stipendium, der unlängst vergebene Jurypreis der Skulpturen-Biennale Weiertal in Winterthur (2019); der Manor Kunstpreis St. Gallen (2015); das Swiss Art Awards (2009, 2010); die Einzelausstellung im Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen, Rotterdam (2016); die Gruppenausstellungen: im MUDAC, Lausanne (2018); im Museum of Contemporary Art Detroit, USA (2018); im Hamburger Bahnhof, im Museum für Gegenwart, Berlin (2016); sowie in der Kunst Halle St. Gallen (2010). Zu Beni Bischofs Schaffen gehören neben der im Eigenverlag erscheinenden Kunstheft Lasermagazin (seit 2005) auch die Künstlerbücher Psychobuch von 2014, Bambi von 2017, Texte 1, 2, 3, 4 (Edition Patrick Frey, 2015, 2016, 2018, 2020) und Rambo (Nieves Publishing, 2016).