Rita Ackermann
Hidden

12.0313.08.2023

Rita Ackermann, Mama, Yves’s Mask, 2021, Acrylic, oil, pigments and china marker on canvas. Daniel Xu and Flora Huang Collection ©Rita Ackermann. Courtesy of the artist and Hauser & Wirth. Photo: François Fernandez

Curated by Tobia Bezzola, director of MASI Lugano, with Chiara Ottavi, assistant curator.

Rita Ackermann’s exhibition titled ‘Hidden’ will focus on a selection of recent paintings in relation to the artist’s early works from the 1990s, encompassing nearly fifty paintings and drawings developed over the past 30 years in New York City. The exhibition will be accompanied by a bilingual catalogue published by MOUSSE Publishing.

Rita Ackermann was born in 1968 in Budapest, Hungary and lives and works in New York City. She studied at the University of Fine Arts in Budapest and The New York Studio School of Drawing, Painting and Sculpture from the years of 1989 to 1992.

Ackermann invented images that became instant sensations, perturbing young girls that are now part of the universe of global imagery. Her drawings and paintings between 1993-95 (which will be included in the exhibition “Hidden”) depict compositions of adolescent female figures of clonelike multiples engaging in various self-destructive and hazardous activities. Her early works with their ambiguous presence serve as bridges between high and low culture, just as the myths and folk tales which often serve as merits to Ackermann’s compositions.

Twenty years later she would abandon the figure, erasing the very matter of her own work. In her ‘Mama’ series, a complex layering of visual language oscillates between abstraction and figuration into a subconscious unfolding of form—concealed deeply in the abstraction of the omnipresence. In early 2022 Ackermann began her latest series of paintings titled, ‘War Drawings’. Oil, china maker and acrylic are heavily worked into the surface of raw linen. Figures are lost, lines are scraped away to reveal shattered compositions. Each of the paintings subjugated by disaster as a purifying element for inevitable harmony.

  • LAC venue

  • Piazza Bernardino Luini 6, 6900 Lugano
  • Tue / Wed / Fri: 11 am – 6 pm
    Thurs: 11 am – 8 pm
    Sat / Sun / Public Holidays: 10 am – 6 pm
    Mon: closed

Events

  • Su 19.03
    11:00
  • Venue LAC, free guided tour (in Italian)
    Rita Ackermann. Hidden

Rita Ackermann
Hidden

12.0313.08.2023

Rita Ackermann, Mama, Yves’s Mask, 2021, Acrylfarbe, Öl, Pigmente und China-Marker auf Leinwand. Daniel Xu and Flora Huang Collection ©Rita Ackermann. Courtesy of the artist and Hauser & Wirth. Foto: François Fernandez

Kuratiert von Tobia Bezzola, Direktor des MASI Lugano, mit Chiara Ottavi, Assistentin der Kuratorin

Im Mittelpunkt des Ausstellungsprojekts „Rita Ackermann. Hidden“ steht eine Auswahl von neueren Gemälden, die mit dem in den 1990er Jahren entstandenen Frühwerk der Künstlerin in einen Dialog treten. Gezeigt werden zirka 50 Gemälden und Zeichnungen, die in den vergangenen 30 Jahren in New York City entstanden sind.

Rita Ackermann wurde 1968 in Budapest geboren. Sie lebt und arbeitet in New York City. Von 1989 bis 1992 studierte sie an der ungarischen Akademie der bildenden Künste in Budapest und am New York Studio School of Drawing, Painting and Sculpture.

Rita Ackermann erfindet Bilder, die sich in spontane Empfindungen verwandeln. Ihre verstörenden Bilder junger Mädchen gehören heute zu einem globalen visuellen Universum. Die zwischen 1993 und 1995 entstandenen Gemälde und Zeichnungen entwickeln jugendliche Frauenfiguren, die sich wie Klone vervielfältigen und sich in allerlei selbstzerstörerische und risikoreiche Aktivitäten begeben. Mit ihrer mehrdeutigen Präsenz fungieren diese ersten Arbeiten als Verbindungsbrücken zwischen Volks- und Hochkultur, ganz so wie die Mythen und populären Legenden, die hier oft verarbeitet werden und hinter den Bildern anklingen.

Zwanzig Jahre später lässt Ackermann die Figur hinter sich. Heute ist Ackermann bei ihrer Serie „Mama“ angekommen: Linien und Gesten, Figuren und Motive erscheinen auf der Oberfläche nur, um sich aufzulösen und dann – an anderen Orten – wieder aufzutauchen. Eine komplexe Schichtung der visuellen Bildsprache, die zwischen Abstraktion und Figuration in einer unbewussten Entfaltung der Form oszilliert – tief verborgen in der Allgegenwart der Sprache der Abstraktion. In den ersten Monaten des Jahres 2022 begann Ackermann mit der Arbeit an ihrer jüngsten Serie aus Zeichnungen mit dem Titel „War Drawings“. Öl, Fettstift und Acryl werden dick aufgetragen und in die Oberfläche einer groben Leinwand eingearbeitet. Die Figuren verlieren sich und die Linien werden abgeschabt und abgekratzt, um fragmentierte Kompositionen entstehen zu lassen. Jedes Bild krümmt sich vor der Katastrophe – als reinigendes Element auf dem Weg zu einer unvermeidlichen Harmonie.

Die Ausstellung begleitet ein in Zusammenarbeit mit MOUSSE Publishing publizierter zweisprachiger Katalog (Italienisch und Englisch).

  • Standort LAC

  • Piazza Bernardino Luini 6, 6900 Lugano
  • Di / Mi / Fr: 11 – 18 Uhr
    Do: 11 – 20 Uhr
    Sa / So / Feiertage: 10 – 18 Uhr
    Mo: geschlossen

Agenda

  • So 19.03
    11:00
  • Standort LAC, kostenlose Führung (auf Italienisch)
    Rita Ackermann. Hidden