Shunk-Kender

Art Through the Eye of the Camera (1957-1983)

01.0320.09.2020





 

Shunk-Kender, John Baldessari, Pier 18, New York, 1971, donazione della Roy Lichtenstein Foundation in memoria di Harry Shunk e János Kender Foto: Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. Tutti i diritti riservati

Curated by Julie Jones, Chloé Goualc’h, Stéphanie Rivoire

Conceived and realised by Centre Pompidou, Paris, in collaboration with Museo d’arte della Svizzera italiana


The recently renovated spaces of Palazzo Reali are the setting for the retrospective of photographers Harry Shunk and János Kender, who created an invaluable record of the avant-garde art world and its most famous figures – Andy Warhol, Christo and Jeanne-Claude, Yves Klein, Daniel Spoerri, Niki de Saint Phalle and Jean Tinguely – in Paris and New York. The exhibition features 450 original photographs and documents selected from among 10,000 donated by the Roy Lichtenstein Foundation in 2014, now held in the Bibliotèque Kandinsky in Paris. The photographs, grouped into sections entitled Intimities, The Body in Action and New Spaces, plunge viewers into the art scene of the late 1950s to the early 1970s, a period in which artists were particularly interested in experimentalism and sexual and artistic freedom, while also on the constant look-out for alternative spaces in which to create and show their work. Shunk and Kender were observers but also artists and authors of their time. Their images have a dual nature in that they provide an important documentation while being photographic artworks in themselves.

  • MASI Palazzo Reali

  • via Canova 10, 6900 Lugano
  • Press Conference
    Friday February 28th,
    10 am

    Opening
    Saturday February 29th,
    from 6 to 9 pm

Biography

Harry Alexandre Schunke, (later Harry Shunk), met Hungarian János Kender in Paris. They would become life and work partners. In 1957, they met the gallerist Iris Clert, a reference for the Nouveaux Réalistes, and they began to follow the exhibitions and performances of the group (Klein, Arman, Spoerri, Tinguely and Niki de Saint Phalle, Villeglé, Hains amongst others). At the end of the 1960s, the duo moved to New York where they entered the highly experimental art scene that featured Warhol, Christo and Jeanne-Claude, Baldessarri, Kusama and many others. There, Shunk-Kender documented not just the artists’ works and performances, but also moments from their private lives. Their partnership came to an end in 1973 when Kender turned away from photography. Shunk, however, continued to work independently until the end of his life.

Shop

Shunk-Kender: Art Through the Eye of the Camera (1957–1983) (EN)

Catalogue

Texts by AA.VV.
2019 Centre Pompidou, Paris
English edition
Ed. Xavier Barral
484 pp.

ISBN 978-2-365-112-369

Shunk-Kender: L’art sous l’objectif (1957–1983) (FR)

Catalogue

Texts by AA.VV.
2019 Centre Pompidou, Paris
French edition
Ed. Xavier Barral
484 pp.

ISBN 978-2 36511-214-7

Shunk-Kender

Die Kunst und die Kamera (1957-1983)

01.0320.09.2020





 

Shunk-Kender, John Baldessari, Pier 18, New York, 1971, donazione della Roy Lichtenstein Foundation in memoria di Harry Shunk e János Kender Foto: Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. Tutti i diritti riservati

Kuratiert von Julie Jones, Chloé Goualc’h, Stéphanie Rivoire

Ausstellung konzipiert und realisiert durch das Centre Pompidou, Paris in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Museo d’arte della Svizzera italiana


In den renovierten Räumlichkeiten des Palazzo Reali zeigt die Ausstellung die Arbeit der Fotografen Harry Shunk und János Kender, die mit ihren Arbeiten einen wertvollen Einblick in die Welt der Avantgardekunst und ihrer bedeutendsten Vertreter ermöglichen: Andy Wahrol, Christo und Jeanne-Claude, Yves Klein, Daniel Spoerri, Niki de Saint Phalle und Jean Tinguely, verewigt in Paris und New York. Der Ausstellungsrundgang setzt sich aus 450 Originalaufnahmen und -dokumenten zusammen, ausgewählt aus den über 10’000 Fotografien der Roy Lichtenstein Foundation, die als Schenkung seit 2014 in der Bibliothek Kandinsky in Paris aufbewahrt werden. Die thematisch in “Intimität”, “Der Köper in Aktion” und “Neue Räume” gruppierten Fotografien tauchen das Publikum ein in die Kunstszene zwischen Ende der 1950er- und Anfang der 1970er-Jahre, eine Zeit, in der die Künstler experimentieren und an sexueller und künstlerischer Befreiung interessiert sind, stets auf der Suche nach alternativen Räumen, in denen sie arbeiten und ihr Schaffen zeigen und verbreiten können. Shunk und Kender sind Zeugen, aber selber auch Künstler und Autoren: Ihre Bilder sind doppelter Natur und stellen sowohl eine wichtige Dokumentation als auch ein eigenständiges fotografisches Werk dar.

  • MASI Palazzo Reali

  • via Canova 10, 6900 Lugano
  • Pressekonferenz
    Freitag, 28. Februar 2020
    10 Uhr

    Vernissage
    Samstag, 29. Februar 2020
    von 18 bis 21 Uhr

Biografie

Harry Alexandre Schunke, später Harry Shunk, begegnet in Paris dem Ungaren János Kender, der sein Lebens- und Arbeitspartner wird. 1957 lernen sie die Galeristin Iris Clert, eine Referenzfigur der Nouveaux Réalistes, kennen und verfolgen die Ausstellungen und Performances der Gruppe (darunter jene von Klein, Arman, Spoerri, Tinguely und Saint Phalle, Villeglé, Hains). Am Ende der 1960er-Jahre ziehen sie nach New York, wo sie die experimentelle Kunstszene frequentieren: Warhol, Christo und Jeanne-Claude, Baldessarri, Kusama und viele andere nutzen ihre Aufnahmen zur Dokumentation ihrer Performances und privaten Anlässe. Ihre Zusammenarbeit endet 1973: Kender zieht sich aus der Welt der Fotografie zurück, während Shunk bis zu seinem Tod allein weiterarbeitet.

Webshop

Shunk-Kender: Art Through the Eye of the Camera (1957–1983) (EN)

Katalog

Texte von AA.VV.
2019 Centre Pompidou, Paris
Englische Ausgabe
Ed. Xavier Barral
484 Seiten

ISBN 978-2-365-112-369

Shunk-Kender: L’art sous l’objectif (1957–1983) (FR)

Katalog

Texte von AA.VV.
2019 Centre Pompidou, Paris
Französische Ausgabe
Ed. Xavier Barral
484 Seiten

ISBN 978-2 36511-214-7