email facebook twitter google+ linkedin pinterest
LAC Lugano Arte e Cultura Main partnerPartner principale

Gabriela Maria Müller. Anima naturae

Bally Artist of the Year Award 2019

MASI Palazzo RealiExhibitions

Gabriela Maria Müller is the winner of the twelfth edition of the 2019 Bally Artist of the Year Award.

The artist has been selected by the Fondazione Bally due to the high quality of the work presented and its close adherence to the theme “On the nature of the world”. The work, entitled Coeurs sacrésinvites us to reflect on the unstoppable nature of change. Created between 2018 and 2019, it is formed of a large spiral composed of thousands of dried seeds from a single elm tree wrapped in wooden framed voile, which is in turn placed within a quadrilateral metal structure. The work expresses the artist’s love for nature, the union between the micro and the macrocosm, between the visible and the invisible, between the material and the immaterial, through a stratified symbology. 

The exhibition will be open from September 24th to November 1st at the first floor of Palazzo Reali and will feature Coeurs Sacrés, the award-winning work, in dialogue with a selection of works created between 2007 and 2020. Nature is the focus of the exhibition, investigated in every single detail, in a display creating a dialogue between the artworks through meticulous and silent manual work. The vibration of the artist's inner space and journey, intimately linked to the sacredness of nature can be felt through the exhibition.

The exhibition is a significant first milestone in the multi-year collaboration agreement signed between MASI Lugano and the Fondazione Bally per la Cultura in 2019.


Biography
Born in Teufen (Canton of Appenzell) in 1963 and a Ticino citizen by adoption, Gabriela Maria Müller is essentially self-taught, having attended some courses at the School of Applied Arts in St. Gallen. Through subsequent training in ergotherapy, she was able to further expand her technical and artisanal know-how, using painting, sculpture, object art, textile art, installations and video with a versatile approach. Her works are part of public collections, including that of Canton Ticino, as well as private collections. She has exhibited in Paris and Venice in 2017, as well as in Ticino, at the Villa Pia Museum (Erich Lindenberg Art Foundation) in Porza in 2016 and at the Vincenzo Vela Museum in Ligornetto in 2019. From her deep and delicate relationship with nature, developed in a rural family environment, the artist draws an inexhaustible source of inspiration that is reflected in each of her works: her artistic process is developed through a meticulous arrangement of natural elements (such as seeds, leaves, blooms, pollen and soil) that produces new, sophisticated forms placed in relation with the structure within which they materialize.

Gabriela Maria Müller. Anima naturae

Bally Artist of the Year Award 2019

25.0901.11.2020

www.fondazionebally.ch

Gabriela Maria Müller, Cœurs sacrés (Heilige Herzen), 2018-2019, Ulmensamen, Voile, Eisen und Holzrahmen, 260 x 260 cm

Gabriela Maria Müller ist die Gewinnerin der zwölften Ausgabe des «Bally Artist of the Year Award 2019». Sie wurde aufgrund der hohen Qualität des von ihr eingereichten Werks und dessen Einhaltung des vorgegebenen Themas «Über die Natur der Welt» von der Stiftungausgewählt. Das Werk mit dem Titel Cœurs sacrés lädt zum Nachdenken über die Unaufhaltsamkeit der Veränderungen ein. Zwischen 2018 und 2019 geschaffen, hat das Werk die Form einer grossen Spirale, bestehend aus Tausenden von getrockneten Samen einer einzigen Ulme auf einem in einen Holzrahmen aufgespannten Gewebe, der wiederum in einer quadratischen Metallstruktur aufgehängt ist.

Vom 24. September bis zum 1. November 2020 wird das prämierte Werk Cœurs Sacrés im ersten Stockwerk des Hauptsitzes im Palazzo Reali ausgestellt, im Dialog mit einer Auswahl von Arbeiten der Künstlerin aus den Jahren 2007 bis 2020. Im Mittelpunkt der Ausstellung steht die Natur, die in ihrer Einzigartigkeit erforscht wird. Die Werke, die von ihrem kontemplativen Zugang und ihrer handwerklichen Arbeit zeugen, werden in Beziehung zueinander gezeigt und ermöglichen die Wahrnehmung der Vibrationen der Seelenzustände der Künstlerin und der Abschnitte ihres inneren Wegs, die eng mit der Heiligkeit der Natur verbunden sind.

Die Ausstellung ist ein erstes bedeutsames Ergebnis des mehrjährigen Kooperationsabkommens, das 2019 zwischen dem MASI Lugano und der Bally-Stiftung für Kultur unterzeichnet wurde.

  • MASI Palazzo Reali

  • via Canova 10, 6900 Lugano

Biografie

Geboren 1963 in Teufen (Kanton Appenzell Ausserrhoden) und Wahltessinerin, ist Gabriela Maria Müller im Wesentlichen Autodidaktin. Sie hat einige Kurse an der Schule für Angewandte Kunst in St. Gallen besucht und dank der nachfolgenden Ausbildung als Ergotherapeutin konnte sie ihre Kenntnisse verschiedener kunsthandwerklicher Techniken vertiefen. Ihr künstlerisches Werk beinhaltet Malerei, Bildhauerei, Objektkunst, Textilkunst, Installationen und Video. Ihre Arbeiten sind Teil öffentlicher Sammlungen, wie jener des Kantons Tessin, sowie von Privatsammlungen. Unter ihren jüngeren Ausstellungen sind jene von Paris und Venedig 2017 sowie die 2016 im Museo Villa Pia (Erich Lindenberg Kunststiftung) in Porza und die Ausstellung 2019 im Museo Vincenzo Vela in Ligornetto von besonderer Bedeutung. In ihrer engen und sensiblen Beziehung zur Natur, die sich im bäuerlichen Umfeld der Familie entwickelt hat, findet die Künstlerin eine unerschöpfliche Inspirationsquelle, die sich in jedem ihrer Werke widerspiegelt: Ihre künstlerische Vorgehensweise entwickelt sich über eine sorgfältige Verarbeitung natürlicher Elemente (wie Samen, Blätter, Löwenzahn, Pollen und Erde), die sie in neuer Formen zum Leben erweckt, im harmonischen Gleichgewicht und in Beziehung mit der Struktur, in der sie entstehen.