Dominique Koch. Moving Knots Across Strings

Bally Artist Award 2022

10.09–02.10.2022

Dominique Koch, Sound Fossil - detail, 2022, Glass, organic residues. In collaboration with: Tobias Koch Photo credit: Julien Félix Courtesy the artist

Sound, glass sculptures and hybrid objects make up the multimedia installation in Palazzo Reali by Dominique Koch, winner of the Bally Artist Award 2022.

The installation created by Koch for MASI Lugano immerses visitors in an imaginary dimension: an "ecosystem in dialogue" which brings humans into contact with both nature and technology. The works highlight Koch’s interdisciplinary approach, which often ventures into fields of scientific research. The artist uses special recordings to render audible environmental vibrations otherwise not perceptible to the human ear, sometimes transforming these vibrations into physical objects too.

Entering the room, visitors are enveloped by a multichannel soundtrack linked to the project entitled terratones. The work, developed by the artist in collaboration with the musician and composer Tobias Koch during a recent residency at La Becque, is linked to acoustic research in the field of ecology. Using bio-acoustic equipment – sensors, hydrophones and ground microphones - the artists have in fact captured the traces of sounds produced in the natural world by various organisms during their life cycle.

Some of the ambient sounds were also used to make the Sound Fossil glass sculptures: the artist used experimental processes with glass to "fossilize" the traces left by the passage of the sound waves.

The objects, recordings and sound fossils thus make up a universe of traces that the artist intends to leave to future generations as a record of our natural connectedness.

  • MASI Palazzo Reali

  • via Canova 10, 6900 Lugano

Dominique Koch. Moving Knots Across Strings

Bally Artist Award 2022

10.09–02.10.2022

Dominique Koch, Sound Fossil - detail, 2022, Glass, organic residues. In collaboration with: Tobias Koch Photo credit: Julien Félix Courtesy the artist

Für den Palazzo Reali hat die Gewinnerin des Bally Artist Awards 2022 Dominique Koch eine multimediale Installation aus Klängen, Skulpturen aus Glas und hybriden Objekten geschaffen.

Die von Koch für die Ausstellungsräume des MASI entwickelte Installation versetzt das Publikum in eine imaginäre Dimension, ein „Ökosystem im Dialog“, in dem sich der Mensch mit Natur und Technologie in Verbindung setzen kann. In den Arbeiten wird Kochs interdisziplinärer Ansatz deutlich, der oft die Nähe zu wissenschaftlichen Forschungsbereichen sucht. Mit speziellen Tonaufnahmen macht die Künstlerin akustische Schwingungen aus der Natur hörbar, die vom menschlichen Ohr sonst nicht wahrgenommen werden und transformiert diese sogar in physische Objekte.

Schon beim Eintritt in den Ausstellungsraum umgibt die Besucherinnen und Besucher ein Mehrkanal-Ton, der zu einem Work in Progress mit dem Titel terratones gehört. Die von der Künstlerin in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Musiker und Komponisten Tobias Koch während eines kürzlich stattgefundenen Arbeitsaufenthalts bei La Becque konzipierte Arbeit ist mit einer akustischen Recherche im Bereich der Ökologie verknüpft. Dank eines bio-akustischen Equipments mit Sensoren, Hydrophonen und Mikrophonen dokumentierten die Künstler in die Umwelt abgegebene Klangspuren von Organismen in unterschiedlichen Lebensphasen.

Einige dieser Umweltklänge wurden auch für die Realisierung der Skulpturen aus Glas Sound Fossil genutzt: In experimentellen Verfahren mit dem Werkstoff Glas hat die Künstlerin die von der Bewegung akustischer Wellen erzeugten Klangspuren „fossilisiert“.

Objekte, Tonaufnahmen und Klangfossilien bilden somit ein Universum aus Spuren, das die Künstlerin zukünftigen Generationen als Beleg für unsere natürliche Ganzheit hinterlassen möchte.

  • MASI Palazzo Reali

  • via Canova 10, 6900 Lugano