Marcel Broodthaers – Industrial Poems

01.0513.11.2022

Marcel Broodthaers, Porte A, 1969 © Succession Marcel Broodthaers / 2021, ProLitteris, Zurich

Marcel Broodthaers (Saint-Gilles, 1924–Cologne, 1976) was one of the leading exponents of Conceptual Art, known in particular for having fused Surrealism with the new artistic trends of the 1960s and 1970s.

Inspired by the popular forms of road signs, in the late 1960s he composed enigmatic visual poems on plastic signposts, using symbols, images, letters, words and punctuation marks, but without the intention of expressing a direct or universal meaning. Made with an industrial production process, these plates are defined by the soft contours of the characters and graphic elements that give a tangible quality to the language. In these works, Broodthaers declared that "the image becomes word and the word image", expressing a subtle criticism of the utilitarian use of Conceptual Art and preferring instead his own poetic dimension.

The exhibition organized by the WIELS contemporary art centre in Brussels in close partnership with Marcel Broodthaers’s heirs, will be adapted to MASI’s venue and will present the main 36 motifs of the series of signs created by the artist. The exhibition itinerary also includes several lesser known versions and variations, which reveal Broodthaers’s particular approach to the concept of the seriality and reproducibility of images and artwork. Today these works continue to testify to Broodthaers’s contribution to contemporary aesthetics through the playful and poetic manipulation of language and reality, and endless variations of perception, interpretation and meaning that flow counter to the universal, transparent and standardized signs of technology and IT.

  • MASI LAC

  • Piazza Bernardino Luini 6, 6900 Lugano
  • Tue / Wed / Fri: 11 am – 6 pm
    Thurs: 11 am – 8 pm
    Sat / Sun / Public Holidays: 10 am – 6 pm
    Mon: closed
  • Full price: CHF 20.–/Reduced: CHF 16.–/Ticino Ticket/IoInsegno: CHF 14.–
    Details

Marcel Broodthaers – Industrial Poems

01.0513.11.2022

Marcel Broodthaers, Porte A, 1969 © Succession Marcel Broodthaers / 2021, ProLitteris, Zurich

Marcel Broodthaers (Saint-Gilles, 1924 – Köln, 1976) ist einer der wichtigsten Vertreter der konzeptuellen Kunst. Er ist vor allem bekannt für sein Bestreben, die surrealistische Kunst mit den neuen Tendenzen der 1960er und 1970er Jahren zu verbinden.

Inspiriert von Verkehrstafeln und Werbeplakaten, schuf er Ende der 1960er Jahre visuelle Gedichte auf Plastikschildern, mit Symbolen, Bildern, Buchstaben, Wörtern und Satzzeichen, ohne mit ihnen jedoch eine direkte oder universelle Aussage anzustreben. Industriell im Vakuumdruckverfahren hergestellt, machen die weichen Konturen der Schriftzeichen und grafischen Elemente die Sprache auf den Schildern tastbar. Broodthaers erklärt, in diesen Werken werde «das Bild zum Wort und das Wort zum Bild», womit er eine subtile Kritik an der utilitaristischen Verwendung der konzeptuellen Kunst zum Ausdruck bringt und demgegenüber ihre poetische Dimension unterstreicht.

Die vom Museum WIELS Brüssel in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Erben von Marcel Broodthaers konzipierte Ausstellung präsentiert die 36 wichtigsten Motive der vom Künstler geschaffenen Serie von Schildern. Ausserdem zeigt sie auch einige weniger bekannte Versionen und Variationen gezeigt, die den besonderen Umgang des Künstlers mit dem Konzept der Serialität und der Reproduzierbarkeit des Bildes und des Kunstwerks verdeutlichen. Durch die spielerische und poetische Manipulation der Sprache und der Realität sowie die ständigen Variationen der Wahrnehmung, der Deutung und Bedeutung, die den universellen, transparenten und standardisierten Zeichen der Technologie und Informatik zuwiderlaufen, zeugen diese Werke auch heute noch von Broodthaers’ Beitrag zur zeitgenössischen Ästhetik.

  • MASI LAC

  • Piazza Bernardino Luini 6, 6900 Lugano
  • Di / Mi / Fr: 11 – 18 Uhr
    Do: 11 – 20 Uhr
    Sa / So / Feiertage: 10 – 18 Uhr
    Mo: geschlossen
  • Erwachsene: CHF 20.–/Reduziert: CHF 16.–/Ticino Ticket/IoInsegno: CHF 14.–
    Detail