Braschler/Fischer

Divided We Stand

17.1022.11.2020

The MASI presents a pop-up exhibition centered around Divided We Stand, a project brought to life in 2019 by Swiss photographer duo Mathias Braschler and Monika Fischer to document the deep disintegration of American society.



Braschler/Fischer, William A. Sonntag, Jeffery S. Bruder and Brandon Lee, firefighters, Michigan City Fire Department Station 4, Michigan City, Indiana © 2020 Braschler/Fischer

Following the results of the 2016 presidential elections in the US, which have revealed a divided country between conservative and progressive forces, the rural and the urban, the red centre of the nation and the blue coasts; the couple decided to embark on a documentary photography trip across the United States to probe the underlying sources of these sharp contrasts, photographing and interviewing people from all layers of society across the country.

Divided We Stand is the result of this fifteen-thousand-mile road trip across the United States, which commenced in April 2019. Along the way, traveling through 40 of the 50 federal states, Braschler/Fischer met, interviewed and photographed 82 American citizens with very diverse views of life, politics and their country, including people of all ages, ethnic groups and professional backgrounds.

The exhibition presents a selection of these intense, and sometimes surprising, portraits projected in MASI’s exhibition spaces, along with a series of interviews that put Braschler/Fischer’s work into context and allow for a better understanding of the opinions of some of the most significant characters they have encountered during their road trip.

Divided We Stand shows the real face of contemporary America, marked in recent years by complex political and social changes. Braschler/Fischer’s photographs offer a picture of a nation at a crossroads, whose future will be very different depending on the outcome of the imminent presidential elections.

  • MASI LAC

  • Piazza Bernardino Luini 6, 6900 Lugano

Biography

Mathias Braschler and Monika Fischer are an internationally renowned photographer couple specialised in portrait photography, particularly interested in wide-ranging projects that focus on people from all parts of society in various countries of the world.

Their most important projects include “Faces of Football”, a collection of close-ups of leading footballers photographed immediately after having left the pitch; “China”, a series of portraits of people from all parts of society and regions of the world’s most populous country; and “The Human Face of Climate Change”, which documents the impact of climate change in various countries around the world.

Braschler/Fischer have won many awards, including the World Press Photo Award, the Hansel Mieth Prize and the European Publishing Award. Their photo reportages are not only published as important monographs, but are also regularly featured in leading international pubications. Their works have been exhibited in museums and galleries all over the world.

Divided We Stand Statements

Braschler/Fischer

Divided We Stand

17.1022.11.2020

Le MASI présente une exposition pop-up consacrée au projet photographique Divided We Stand, réalisé par le couple de photographes suisses Mathias Braschler et Monika Fischer en 2019 dans le but de documenter les profondes divisions au sein de la société américaine.

Braschler/Fischer, William A. Sonntag, Jeffery S. Bruder et Brandon Lee, pompiers, Michigan City Fire Department Station 4, Michigan City, Indiana © 2020 Braschler/Fischer

Suite au résultat de l’élection présidentielle de 2016, qui a révélé une Amérique fortement partagée entre forces conservatrices et progressistes, entre villes et campagnes, entre le centre « rouge » et les côtes « bleues » du pays, le couple de photographes a décidé de partir aux quatre coins des États-Unis pour explorer, par le biais de photographies et d’interviews de personnes issues de toutes les couches sociales et de tout le pays, les causes de ces profondes différences.

Divided We Stand est le résultat de ce voyage intensif de 24 000 kilomètres à travers tout le pays, qui a débuté en avril 2019 dans une camionette transformé en camping-car et équipé d’un studio photo. Au cours de ce voyage à travers 40 des 50 États fédéraux, Braschler/Fischer ont rencontré, interviewé et photographié 82 citoyens américains présentant des opinions très différentes sur la vie, la politique et leur nation ; des personnes de tous âges, de toutes ethnies et de toutes professions.

L’exposition présente une sélection de ces intenses - et parfois surprenants - portraits, projetés dans les espaces d’exposition du MASI en parallèle à une série d’entretiens, qui permet de contextualiser le travail de Braschler/Fischer et de mieux saisir les opinions exprimées par les personnes les plus marquantes rencontrées au cours de leur voyage.

Divided We Stand illustre le visage de l’Amérique contemporaine, dont les dernières années ont été marquées par des changements politiques et sociaux complexes. Les photographies de Braschler/Fischer renvoient l’image d’une nation à la croisée des chemins, dont l’avenir dépendra fortement de l’issue des prochaines élections présidentielles.

  • MASI LAC

  • Piazza Bernardino Luini 6, 6900 Lugano

Biographie

Le couple de photographes de renommée internationale Mathias Braschler et Monika Fischer s’est spécialisé dans la photographie de portrait, notamment par le biais de projets de grande envergure visant à étudier des personnes de tous horizons et de différents pays du monde.

Parmi leurs plus importants projets, citons « Faces of Football », une série de portraits en gros plan des plus grands joueurs de football, photographiés juste après avoir quitté le terrain ; «China», une série de portraits de personnes issues de tous les milieux et de toutes les régions de ce pays le plus peuplé du monde ; ou «The Human Face of Climate Change», qui documente l’impact du changement climatique dans différents pays du monde.

Braschler/Fischer ont remporté de nombreux prix, dont le World Press Photo Award, le prix Hansel Mieth et le European Publishing Award. Leurs reportages ont non seulement été documentés dans le cadre d’importantes monographies, ils sont également régulièrement publiés par de grands magazines internationaux. Leurs projets photographiques ont, de plus, été exposés dans des musées et des galeries du monde entier.

Divided We Stand Statements