Beni Bischof

Intensity Intensifies

05.12.202010.01.2021

Beni Bischof, Videostill

The universe of images created by Bischof is inspired by the banality of day-to-day life, which the artist translates into a very direct visual language, following a media strategy akin to advertising. Using plays on words, wit and symbols, Bischof brings the visitor face to face with paradoxical works, born of spontaneous thoughts on topical political and social themes, and presented in bizarre and comical ways.

The videos presented here are compositions of images drawn not only from the world of fashion, advertisements, and cheap, glossy and gossip magazines, but also from the film industry, the world of television and above all the internet – an endless source of textual and visual quotations. On occasion of the exhibition at MASI, the artist has also created the new video entitled Intensity Intensifies, in which he has composed a series of gifs recently created on social media.

  • MASI LAC

  • Piazza Bernardino Luini 6, 6900 Lugano
  • Tue – Wed – Fri: 10 am – 5 pm
    Thurs: 10 am – 8 pm
    Sat – Sun – Public Holidays: 10 am – 6 pm
    Closed on Mondays
  • Full Price: CHF 15.–/Reduced Price: CHF 12.–
    Details

Biography

The works of Swiss artist Beni Bischof (b. 1976) have been displayed in many solo and collective exhibitions, and have received several awards, including the recent Jurypreis Skulpturen–Biennale Weiertal in Winterthur (2019) and the Manor Award St Gallen (2015). Among his noteworthy exhibitions are the solo show at the Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen, Rotterdam (2016) and the collectives at MUDAC, Lausanne (2018); the Museum of Contemporary Art Detroit, US (2018); Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart, Berlin (2016); and the Swiss Institute, New York (2016). Bischof’s production also includes the self-publication of the art magazine Lasermagazin (since 2005) and the publication of the artist’s book Psychobuch in 2014 and Bambi in 2017.

Beni Bischof

Intensity Intensifies

05.12.202010.01.2021

 

 

Beni Bischof, Videostill

L’univers d’images créé par Beni Bischof prend forme à partir de la banalité du quotidien, que l’artiste traduit en un langage visuel immédiat suivant une stratégie médiatique similaire à celle de la publicité. Au moyen de jeux de mots, d’ironie et de symboles, Bischof place le visiteur devant des œuvres paradoxales, nées de réflexions spontanées sur des questions d’actualité politique et sociale et présentées de façon bizarre et comique.

Les vidéos présentées ici sont des compositions d’images tirées du monde de la mode, de magazines à potins bas de gamme, de publicités, mais aussi de l’industrie cinématographique, du monde de la télévision et surtout d’Internet, source inépuisable de citations textuelles et visuelles. À l’occasion de l’exposition au MASI, l’artiste a également conçu la nouvelle vidéo Intensity Intensifies - dans laquelle il a composé une série de gifs récemment créés sur les médias sociaux.

  • MASI LAC

  • Piazza Bernardino Luini 6, 6900 Lugano
  • Ma – Me – Ve: 10 – 17 heures
    Je: 10 – 20 heures
    Sa – Di – Jours fériés: 10 – 18 heures
    Fermé le lundi
  • Prix régulier : CHF 15.– / réduit : CHF 12.–
    Détails

Biographie

Les œuvres de l’artiste suisse Beni Bischof, né en 1976, ont été exposées dans de nombreuses expositions individuelles et collectives et ont été récompensées à plusieurs reprises. Parmi les prix et les expositions, citons le récent Jurypreis Skulpturen-Biennale Weiertal à Winterthur (2019) ; le prix du Manoir de Saint-Moritz. Gallen (2015) ; l’exposition individuelle au Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen, Rotterdam (2016) ; et les expositions collectives au MUDAC, Lausanne (2018) ; Museum of Contemporary Art Detroit, US (2018) ; Hamburger Bahnhof, Museum für Gegenwart, Berlin (2016) ; Swiss Institut, New York (2016). Dans le cadre de la production de Beni Bischof, on peut citer également l’auto-publication de la revue artistique Lasermagazin (depuis 2005), la publication du livre d’artiste Psychobuch en 2014 et Bambi en 2017.