Rita Ackermann
Hidden

12.0313.08.2023

Rita Ackermann, Mama, Yves’s Mask, 2021, Acrylic, oil, pigments and china marker on canvas. Daniel Xu and Flora Huang Collection ©Rita Ackermann. Courtesy of the artist and Hauser & Wirth. Photo: François Fernandez

Curated by Tobia Bezzola, director of MASI Lugano, with Chiara Ottavi, assistant curator.

Rita Ackermann’s exhibition titled ‘Hidden’ will focus on a selection of recent paintings in relation to the artist’s early works from the 1990s, encompassing nearly fifty paintings and drawings developed over the past 30 years in New York City. The exhibition will be accompanied by a bilingual catalogue published by MOUSSE Publishing.

Rita Ackermann was born in 1968 in Budapest, Hungary and lives and works in New York City. She studied at the University of Fine Arts in Budapest and The New York Studio School of Drawing, Painting and Sculpture from the years of 1989 to 1992.

Ackermann invented images that became instant sensations, perturbing young girls that are now part of the universe of global imagery. Her drawings and paintings between 1993-95 (which will be included in the exhibition “Hidden”) depict compositions of adolescent female figures of clonelike multiples engaging in various self-destructive and hazardous activities. Her early works with their ambiguous presence serve as bridges between high and low culture, just as the myths and folk tales which often serve as merits to Ackermann’s compositions.

Twenty years later she would abandon the figure, erasing the very matter of her own work. In her ‘Mama’ series, a complex layering of visual language oscillates between abstraction and figuration into a subconscious unfolding of form—concealed deeply in the abstraction of the omnipresence. In early 2022 Ackermann began her latest series of paintings titled, ‘War Drawings’. Oil, china maker and acrylic are heavily worked into the surface of raw linen. Figures are lost, lines are scraped away to reveal shattered compositions. Each of the paintings subjugated by disaster as a purifying element for inevitable harmony.

  • LAC venue

  • Piazza Bernardino Luini 6, 6900 Lugano
  • Tue / Wed / Fri: 11 am – 6 pm
    Thurs: 11 am – 8 pm
    Sat / Sun / Public Holidays: 10 am – 6 pm
    Mon: closed

Events

  • Su 19.03
    11:00
  • Venue LAC, free guided tour (in Italian)
    Rita Ackermann. Hidden

Rita Ackermann
Hidden

12.0313.08.2023

Rita Ackermann, Mama, Yves’s Mask, 2021, Acrylique, huile, pigments et crayon gras sur toile. Daniel Xu and Flora Huang Collection ©Rita Ackermann. Courtesy of the artist and Hauser & Wirth. Photo: François Fernandez

Commissariat : Tobia Bezzola, directeur du MASI Lugano et Chiara Ottavi, assistante commissaire.

"Rita Ackermann. Hidden” se concentre sur une sélection de peintures récentes liées aux premiers travaux de l’artiste à partir des années 1990, et présente environ 50 peintures et dessins réalisés par Ackermann au cours des 30 dernières années à New York.

Née à Budapest en 1968, Rita Ackermann vit et travaille à New York. Entre 1989 et 1992, elle étudie à l’Université hongroise des Beaux-Arts de Budapest et à la New York Studio School of Drawing, Painting and Sculpture.

Ackermann invente des images qui se traduisent par des sensations instantanées. Ses adolescentes troublantes appartiennent désormais à un univers visuel global. Les dessins et peintures réalisés entre 1993 et 1995 (et présentés dans l’exposition) développent des compositions de figures féminines adolescentes multipliées comme des clones et s’adonnant à diverses activités autodestructrices et risquées. Par leur présence ambiguë, ses premières œuvres font office de pont entre la haute et la basse culture, tout comme les mythes et les légendes populaires qui les enrichissent souvent.

Vingt ans plus tard Ackermann abandonnera la figuration, supprimant ainsi le véritable centre d’intérêt de son travail et commence un travail d’effacement au sein de la matière. Aujourd’hui, Ackermann arrive à la série "Mama" : lignes et gestes, figures et motifs font surface seulement pour se dissoudre et réapparaître à nouveau, mais ailleurs. Une stratification complexe du langage visuel, oscillant entre abstraction et figuration dans un déploiement inconscient de la forme - cachée au plus profond de l’abstraction de l’omniprésence. Au début de l’année 2022, Ackermann commence sa série de peintures la plus récente, intitulée “War Drawings”. L’huile, le crayon gras et l’acrylique sont densément travaillés dans la surface rugueuse de la toile. Les figures sont perdues et les lignes sont grattées et abrasées pour créer des compositions fragmentées. Chaque tableau se plie au désastre comme un élément purificateur vers une inévitable harmonie.

L’exposition sera accompagnée d’un catalogue bilingue (italien et anglais) publié en coopération avec les éditions MOUSSE.

  • Lieu d’exposition LAC

  • Piazza Bernardino Luini 6, 6900 Lugano
  • Ma / Me / Ve: 11 – 18 heures
    Je: 11 – 20 heures
    Sa / So / Jours fériés: 10 – 18 heures
    Lu: fermé

Agenda

  • Di 19.03
    11:00
  • Lieu d’exposition LAC, visite guidée gratuite (en italien)
    Rita Ackermann. Hidden