Shunk-Kender

Art Through the Eye of the Camera (1957-1983)

01.0320.09.2020





 

Shunk-Kender, John Baldessari, Pier 18, New York, 1971, donazione della Roy Lichtenstein Foundation in memoria di Harry Shunk e János Kender Foto: Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. Tutti i diritti riservati

Curated by Julie Jones, Chloé Goualc’h, Stéphanie Rivoire

An exhibition conceived and realised by Centre Pompidou, Paris, in collaboration with Museo d’arte della Svizzera italiana


The recently renovated spaces of Palazzo Reali are the setting for the exhibition of the work of photographers Harry Shunk and János Kender, who created an invaluable record of the world of avant-garde art and its most famous representatives – Andy Warhol, Christo and Jeanne-Claude, Yves Klein, Daniel Spoerri, Niki de Saint Phalle and Jean Tinguely – in Paris and New York. The exhibition features 450 original photographs and documents that have been selected from among the 10,000 donated by the Roy Lichtenstein Foundation in 2014, now held in the Bibliotèque Kandinsky in Paris. The photos shown are grouped in sections titled “Intimities”, “The Body in Action” and “New Spaces” and plunge viewers into the art scene between the late 1950s and early ’70s, a period in which artists were especially interested in experimentalism and sexual and artistic freedom, while also on the constant look-out for alternative spaces in which to create and show their work. Shunk and Kender were onlookers but also artists and authors of their time: images have a dual nature in that they offer important documentation while also being photographic works in themselves.

  • MASI Palazzo Reali

  • via Canova 10, 6900 Lugano
  • Press conference
    Friday February 28th,
    10 am

    Opening
    Saturday February 29th,
    from 6 to 9 pm

  • Full price: 8.- CHF/Reduced price: 6.- CHF
    Details

Biography

It was in Paris that Harry Alexandre Schunke, later altered to Harry Shunk, met the Hungarian János Kender, who would become his life and work partner. In 1957 they met the gallerist Iris Clert, who was a point of reference for the Nouveaux Réalistes, and they began to follow the exhibitions and performances of the group (Klein, Arman, Spoerri, Tinguely and Niki de Saint Phalle, Villeglé, Hains among the others). At the end of the 1960s, the duo moved to New York where they entered the highly experimental art scene that featured Warhol, Christo and Jeanne-Claude, Baldessarri, Kusama and many others; there Shunk-Kender used their photos to document not just the artists’ works and performances but also moments from their private lives. Their partnership came to an end in 1973 when Kender turned away from photography. Shunk, however, continued to work independently until the end of his life.

Shop

Shunk-Kender: Art Through the Eye of the Camera (1957-1983) (EN)

Catalog

Shunk-Kender

L’art sous l’objectif (1957-1983)

01.0320.09.2020











 

Shunk-Kender, John Baldessari, Pier 18, New York, 1971, donazione della Roy Lichtenstein Foundation in memoria di Harry Shunk e János Kender Foto: Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. Tutti i diritti riservati

Sous le commissariat de Julie Jones, Chloé Goualc’h, Stéphanie Rivoire

Une exposition conçue et réalisée par le Centre Pompidou, Paris, en collaboration avec Museo d’arte della Svizzera italiana


Les espaces rénovés du Palazzo Reali accueillent l’exposition des photographes Harry Shunk et János Kender qui, de par leur travail, livrent un témoignage inestimable sur le monde de l’art de l’avant-garde et ses représentants les plus célèbres : Andy Warhol, Christo et Jeanne-Claude, Yves Klein, Daniel Spoerri, Niki de Saint Phalle et Jean Tinguely, photographiés à Paris et à New York. L’exposition présente 450 tirages et documents originaux sélectionnés parmi les plus de 10 000 oeuvres offertes par la Fondation Roy Lichtenstein en 2014, conservées de nos jours à la Bibliothèque Kandinsky à Paris. Les photographies exposées, regroupées dans les sections « Intimités », « Corps en action » et « Nouveaux espaces », permettent de découvrir la scène artistique parisienne de la fin des années 50 jusqu’au début des années 70. Une période où les artistes s’intéressent particulièrement à l’expérimentation, à la libération sexuelle et artistique et recherchent constamment des espaces alternatifs pour créer et diffuser leur travail. Shunk et Kender sont tout à la fois témoins, artistes et auteurs de cette époque décisive : leurs photographies présentent une double caractéristique, elles forment tout à la fois une documentation essentielle et une oeuvre photographique à part entière.

  • MASI Palazzo Reali

  • via Canova 10, 6900 Lugano
  • Conférence de presse
    Vendredi 28 février,
    10 heures

    Vernissage
    Samedi 29 février,
    18-21 heures

Biographie

Harry Alexandre Schunke, qui choisit plus tard de se faire nommer Harry Shunk, rencontre à Paris le Hongrois János Kender, qui deviendra son partenaire dans la vie et le travail. En 1957, ils font la connaissance de la galeriste Iris Clert, figure de référence des Nouveaux Réalistes et documentent dès lors les expositions et les performances du groupe (Klein, Arman, Spoerri, Tinguely et de Saint Phalle, Villeglé, Hains etc.). À la fin des années 60, ils s’installent à New York, où ils fréquentent les scènes artistiques les plus expérimentales : Warhol, Christo et Jeanne-Claude, Baldessarri, Kusama et bien d’autres se servent de leurs photographies pour documenter leurs performances et moments privés. Leur collaboration se termine en 1973 : Kender abandonne le monde de la photographie ; Shunk continue à travailler de façon indépendante jusqu’à la fin de ses jours.

Shop

Shunk-Kender: Art Through the Eye of the Camera (1957–1983) (EN)

Catalogue

Textes de AA.VV.
2019 Centre Pompidou, Paris
Édition anglaise
Éd. Xavier Barral
484 pp.

ISBN 978-2-365-112-369

Shunk-Kender: L’art sous l’objectif (1957–1983) (FR)

Catalogue