Salvatore Vitale
Displaying Security

Bally Artist of the Year Award 2020

06.0618.07.2021

 

 

Salvatore Vitale, How to Secure a Country, 2015, Archival pigment print © Salvatore Vitale

Salvatore Vitale is the winner of the Bally Artist of the Year Award 2020. The Bally Foundation and the Museo d’arte della Svizzera italiana (MASI) are marking the occasion with Displaying Security, the exhibition dedicated to him at Palazzo Reali, from 6 June to 18 July 2021.

Salvatore Vitale has won the Bally Artist of the Year Award 2020 as his work closely reflects the theme of the award’s 13th edition: “Sloganisme et sloganismes”, an invitation to develop languages capable of connecting form, image and content to create an eye-catching and thought-provoking interaction.

The solo exhibition will be held in the Sala Mattoni on the ground floor of Palazzo Reali and features a selection of photographs from the artist’s visual project entitled How to Secure a Country. This work spans several years, during which Vitale investigated the mechanisms underlying Switzerland’s national security system. It is a highly complex system made up of a series of extremely diverse but interconnected components – from the army to meteorological centres and even robotics laboratories – which frequently remain completely out of sight. Focusing on instructions, protocols, bureaucracies and other more concrete aspects of security, the challenge embraced by Vitale was to reveal certain facets of a very intricate and difficult-to-observe structure through a series of photographs, diagrams and graphic illustrations. This was no easy feat, as reflected by the title of the exhibition: Displaying Security.

  • MASI Palazzo Reali

  • via Canova 10, 6900 Lugano

Salvatore Vitale
Displaying Security

Bally Artist of the Year Award 2020

06.0618.07.2021

 

 

Salvatore Vitale, How to Secure a Country, 2015, Archival pigment print © Salvatore Vitale

Salvatore Vitale est le lauréat de la treizième édition du Bally Artist of the Year Award. À cette occasion, la Fondation Bally pour la Culture et le Museo d’arte della Svizzera italiana lui consacrent une exposition intitulée Displaying Security, qui se tiendra du 6 juin au 18 juillet 2021 dans les espaces du Palazzo Reali.

Salvatore Vitale est le lauréat du Bally Artist of the Year Award 2020. Il a convaincu le jury par la façon dont son œuvre traite le thème de la treizième édition, « Sloganisme et sloganismes »: une invitation à développer des langages immédiats, susceptibles de mettre en relation la forme, l’image et le contenu tout en générant une forte interaction, de sorte à capter le regard et à stimuler la pensée.

L’exposition de Salvatore Vitale est présentée dans la « Sala Mattoni », située au rez-de-chaussée du Palazzo Reali. Une sélection d’images photographiques, réalisées dans le cadre du projet How to Secure a Country, sont exposées. Le projet de Vitale se base sur une recherche visuelle de plusieurs années, par laquelle l’artiste explore les mécanismes sous-jacents au système de sécurité nationale suisse. Un système éminemment complexe, fait de réalités interdépendantes et fortement hétérogènes - de l’armée aux centres de météorologie, en passant par les laboratoires de robotique -, et qui demeurent bien souvent totalement invisibles. En se focalisant sur les directives, les protocoles, les procédures bureaucratiques et autres formes plus spécifiques à la sécurité, Salvatore Vitale tente de dévoiler, à travers une série de photographies, de schémas et d’illustrations graphiques, les différents aspects d’un appareil sécuritaire hautement complexe et difficile à observer. Une tentative difficile, qui se traduit également dans le titre de l’exposition : Displaying Security.

  • MASI Palazzo Reali

  • via Canova 10, 6900 Lugano