Marcel Broodthaers – Industrial Poems

01.0513.11.2022

Marcel Broodthaers, Porte A, 1969 © Succession Marcel Broodthaers / 2021, ProLitteris, Zurich

Marcel Broodthaers (Saint-Gilles, 1924–Cologne, 1976) was one of the leading exponents of Conceptual Art, known in particular for having fused Surrealism with the new artistic trends of the 1960s and 1970s.

Inspired by the popular forms of road signs, in the late 1960s he composed enigmatic visual poems on plastic signposts, using symbols, images, letters, words and punctuation marks, but without the intention of expressing a direct or universal meaning. Made with an industrial production process, these plates are defined by the soft contours of the characters and graphic elements that give a tangible quality to the language. In these works, Broodthaers declared that "the image becomes word and the word image", expressing a subtle criticism of the utilitarian use of Conceptual Art and preferring instead his own poetic dimension.

The exhibition organized by the WIELS contemporary art centre in Brussels in close partnership with Marcel Broodthaers’s heirs, will be adapted to MASI’s venue and will present the main 36 motifs of the series of signs created by the artist. The exhibition itinerary also includes several lesser known versions and variations, which reveal Broodthaers’s particular approach to the concept of the seriality and reproducibility of images and artwork. Today these works continue to testify to Broodthaers’s contribution to contemporary aesthetics through the playful and poetic manipulation of language and reality, and endless variations of perception, interpretation and meaning that flow counter to the universal, transparent and standardized signs of technology and IT.

  • MASI LAC

  • Piazza Bernardino Luini 6, 6900 Lugano
  • Tue / Wed / Fri: 11 am – 6 pm
    Thurs: 11 am – 8 pm
    Sat / Sun / Public Holidays: 10 am – 6 pm
    Mon: closed
  • Full price: CHF 20.–/Reduced: CHF 16.–/Ticino Ticket/IoInsegno: CHF 14.–
    Details

Marcel Broodthaers – Industrial Poems

01.0513.11.2022

Marcel Broodthaers, Porte A, 1969 © Succession Marcel Broodthaers / 2021, ProLitteris, Zurich

Surtout connu pour avoir rapproché l’art surréaliste aux nouvelles tendances des années 1960 et 1970, Marcel Broodthaers (Saint-Gilles, 1924 - Cologne, 1976) est l’un des principaux représentants de l’art conceptuel.

Inspiré par l’aspect populaire des panneaux routiers, il compose à la fin des années 1960 des poèmes visuels énigmatiques sur des enseignes en plastique, avec des symboles, des images, des lettres, des mots et des signes de ponctuation, mais sans chercher à exprimer un sens direct ou universel. Fabriqués industriellement les plaques ont les contours souples des caractères et des éléments graphiques rendent le langage des panneaux palpable. Broodthaers déclare que dans ces œuvres "l’image devient parole et la parole image", formulant ainsi une subtile critique sur la fonction utilitaire de l’art conceptuel et lui préférant sa dimension poétique.

L’exposition, conçue par le musée WIELS de Bruxelles en étroite collaboration avec les héritiers de Marcel Broodthaers, sera adaptée aux espaces du MASI Lugano et présentera les 36 principaux motifs de la série de panneaux créée par Broodthaers. Le parcours de l’exposition comprend également des versions et des variations moins célèbres, révélant l’approche particulière de l’artiste sur le concept de sérialité ainsi que de reproductibilité de l’image et de l’œuvre d’art, seront également présentées. Ces œuvres témoignent, encore aujourd’hui, de la contribution de Broodthaers à l’esthétique contemporaine : par la manipulation ludique et poétique du langage et de la réalité, ou encore par de continuelles variations de perception, de lecture et de signification qui vont à l’encontre des signes universels, transparents et standardisés de la technologie et de l’informatique.

  • MASI LAC

  • Piazza Bernardino Luini 6, 6900 Lugano
  • Ma / Me / Ve: 11 – 18 heures
    Je: 11 – 20 heures
    Sa / So / Jours fériés: 10 – 18 heures
    Lu: fermé
  • Prix régulier : CHF 20.–/ Réduit : CHF 16.–/Ticino Ticket/IoInsegno: CHF 14.–
    Détails