Nicolas Party
Rovine

27.06.202109.01.2022

 

 

 

Nicolas Party, Rocks, 2014, Soft pastel on canvas,The Collection of Donald Porteous, Photo by: Michael Wolchover © Nicolas Party

From 27 June 2021 to 9 January 2022, the Museo d’arte della Svizzera italiana presents “Rovine” (Ruins), the first major monographic exhibition of Nicolas Party (Lausanne, 1980) ever to be displayed in a museum in Europe. This immersive project allows the artist to give life to a rather uncanny universe, complete with bold contrasts of colour, enveloping architectural forms, and startling trompe l’oeil decorations. Against this backdrop, his magnetic artworks are staged: large site-specific murals, intriguing polychrome sculptures and luminous pastel paintings.

This ambitious exhibition is in fact a project conceived by the artist, on the basis of the specific structure of MASI largest exhibition hall. Here, on an imposing scale, his soaring, centrally planned architecture, is divided into five distinct environments, each dedicated to a recurring motif in Nicolas Party’s work: still life, portrait, rocky views, caves, and landscape.

On the outside of this structure, Party has created four large pastel murals, inspired by four works produced by Swiss painter Arnold Böcklin (1827-1901), a leading representative of symbolism, all depicting enigmatic views of the decaying buildings evoked in the title of the exhibition. These monochromatic, decadent scenarios usher visitors into an environment that contrasts sharply with the chromatic explosion of the works and environments that feature inside the architectural space itself. As is the norm for the artist, Party has further transformed the exhibition space with backgrounds painted in contrasting colours and polychrome marble trompe l’oeil decorations, created in collaboration with Sarah Margnetti. Indeed, this manner of displaying his work is at the core of Party’s belief: exhibitions always represent an opportunity to stage his paintings and sculptures in an environment capable of sparking further possible interpretations of his art, by placing his pieces not simply in relation to one another, but also within their setting.

The Artist

Born in Lausanne in 1980, Nicolas Party currently lives and works in New York. His unique artistic path began in his early teens, when he first became obsessed with graffiti, a means of expression he has continued to explore for the following decade. After turning his interest towards 3D animation, he subsequently completed his training by obtaining a Master’s in Fine Arts from the Glasgow School of Art. Over the past ten years, Party’s artworks have been greeted with both critical and public acclaim and have been displayed in renowned institutions, including Musée Magritte (Brussels, 2018), the Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden (Washington DC, 2017), Dallas Museum of Art (2016), Centre Culturel Suisse (Paris, 2015) and Swiss Institute (New York, 2012).

  • MASI LAC

  • Piazza Bernardino Luini 6, 6900 Lugano
  • Tue / Wed / Fri: 11 am – 6 pm
    Thurs: 11 am – 8 pm
    Sat / Sun / Public Holidays: 10 am – 6 pm
    Mon: closed
  • Full price: CHF 20.–/Reduced: CHF 16.–/Ticino Ticket/IoInsegno: CHF 14.–
    Details

Shop

Nicolas Party Rovine

Catalogue

The exhibition is accompanied by a catalogue published by Scheidegger & Spiess and Edizioni Casagrande, featuring contributions by Tobia Bezzola, Michele Robecchi and Francesca Bernasconi. All the artworks on display have been photographed on site and are reproduced in the publication, along with views of the installation which reveal the exhibition concept as a whole.

Graphic design by Studio Marie Lusa

Trilingual edition (Italian, English, German)
Ed. Scheidegger & Spiess
ISBN 978-30-3942-0353

Nicolas Party
Rovine

27.06.202109.01.2022

 

 

Nicolas Party, Rocks, 2014, Pastel sec sur toile, Collection de Donald Porteous Photo: Michael Wolchover © Nicolas Party

Du 27 juin 2021 au 9 janvier 2022, le Museo d’arte della Svizzera italiana accueille « Rovine », la première grande exposition monographique de Nicolas Party (Lausanne, 1980) à être présentée dans un musée européen. Avec ce projet immersif, l’artiste crée un univers insolite, caractérisé par des contrastes chromatiques audacieux, des formes architecturales enveloppantes et des décorations en trompe-l’œil inattendues, dans lequel il met en scène ses œuvres magnétiques: de grandes peintures murales site-specific, d’intrigantes sculptures polychromes et de lumineux Pastel secs.

Cet ambitieux projet d’exposition a été expressément conçu par l’artiste en fonction de la structure de la grande salle d’exposition située au sous-sol du MASI. Nicolas Party a pensé une imposante architecture à plan central, divisée en cinq ambiances distinctes dédiées à autant de thèmes récurrents dans son œuvre: les natures mortes, les portraits, les vues rocheuses, les grottes et les paysages.

À l’extérieur de cette structure, Party a réalisé quatre grandes peintures murales au Pastel sec inspirées par les œuvres du peintre suisse Arnold Böcklin (1827-1901), l’un des principaux représentants du symbolisme. Elles figurent des vues énigmatiques d’édifices en ruine, qui font allusion au titre de l’exposition (« Rovine »/ « Ruines »). Ces atmosphères monochromes et décadentes accueillent le spectateur dans un environnement qui contraste fortement avec l’explosion chromatique des œuvres et des espaces intérieurs de l’architecture. L’artiste est intervenu, comme il le fait souvent, sur l’espace d’exposition en optant pour des fonds de couleurs contrastés et des décorations en trompe-l’œil de marbres polychromes, réalisées en étroite collaboration avec Sarah Margnetti. Ce mode de présentation est au cœur de la pensée de Party : ses expositions constituent l’occasion de mettre en scène ses peintures et ses sculptures dans un environnement susceptible d’activer de nouvelles possibilités de lecture de ses œuvres, en les mettant en relation non seulement entre elles mais aussi avec le cadre dans lequel elles sont présentées.

L’artiste

Né à Lausanne en 1980, Nicolas Party vit et travaille à New York. Sa formation artistique singulière débute à l’adolescence lorsqu’il se passionne pour le graffiti, une expérience qu’il poursuit pendant plus d’une décennie. Il s’intéresse ensuite à l’animation 3D et complète sa formation en obtenant un Master of Fine Arts à la Glasgow School of Art. Au cours des dix dernières années, Party a été acclamé par la critique et le public et ses œuvres ont été présentées dans des institutions majeures, notamment le Musée Magritte (Bruxelles, 2018), le Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden (Washington DC, 2017), le Dallas Museum of Art (2016), le Centre Culturel Suisse (Paris, 2015) et le Swiss Institute (New York, 2012).

  • MASI LAC

  • Piazza Bernardino Luini 6, 6900 Lugano
  • Ma / Me / Ve: 11 – 18 heures
    Je: 11 – 20 heures
    Sa / So / Jours fériés: 10 – 18 heures
    Lu: fermé
  • Prix régulier : CHF 20.–/ Réduit : CHF 16.–/Ticino Ticket/IoInsegno: CHF 14.–
    Détails

Shop

Nicolas Party Rovine

Catalogue

L’exposition est accompagnée d’un catalogue, publié par Scheidegger & Spiess et Edizioni Casagrande, contenant des contributions de Tobia Bezzola, Michele Robecchi et Francesca Bernasconi. Toutes les œuvres de l’exposition, photographiées in situ, sont reproduites dans la publication conjointement à des vues générales de l’exposition qui documentent le projet dans son ensemble.

Graphisme réalisé par le Studio Marie Lusa.

Édition trilingue (italien, anglais, allemand)
Ed. Scheidegger & Spiess
ISBN 978-30-3942-0353